Elizabeth Warren Offers Democrats More Than a 2016 Candidacy—She Offers a 2014 Agenda | The Nation

She might become a Teddy Roosevelt of the 21st century.. She’s a strong fighter and a great communicator, and the timing is good..

http://www.thenation.com/blog/180723/elizabeth-warren-offers-democrats-more-2016-candidacy-she-offers-2014-agenda

Detroit—Elizabeth Warren says she is not running for president in 2016—despite the enthusiastic “Run, Liz, Run” chanting that erupted when the senator from Massachusetts took the stage at this year’s Netroots Nation conference. But Warren came to Detroit with the platform on which Democrats should be running in 2016.

And in 2014.

Warren is frequently described as a populist. And she can certainly frame her message in populist terms, as was well illustrated by the strongest statement of her Friday Netroots Nation address: “A kid gets caught with a few ounces of pot and goes to jail, but a big bank launders drug money and no one gets arrested. The game is rigged.”

14 thoughts on “Elizabeth Warren Offers Democrats More Than a 2016 Candidacy—She Offers a 2014 Agenda | The Nation

  1. We’ll see…even some of my liberal friends have said that she’s a little too much to the left for them to vote for her. I would love Elizabeth Warren as a candidate, but I also want to be sure the Democrat has a chance to win :p

    • Yep – she’s way too left and too “narrow” politically, it’s all about the banks and foreclosures and finance. Which she knows really well.
      But she’s a very clear voice and she does a great job out there.

      Btw. I saw Hillary on GPS today, I’m actually a little bit surprised on the positive side.. In part it might be a relief to hear someone actually speak back hard at Russia, and being engaged.. Obama really has left the office already.
      She has the “power person” vibe to her too, which is a good thing.

      • I watched that interview as well and really liked it. I did sense a little dig at the Obama personality cult there when she suggested that the 2016 election will be all about an agenda and not a candidate :) And I was all ears when she talked about the economy, the middle class and foreign policy. Yeah, she surprised me on the positive side too.

        I really wish Obama hadn’t left the office already. I know there’s a lot of opposition to him, but he’s such a bright guy and could still get some useful stuff done even in his lame duck state. Doesn’t look like he’ll try, though.

    • And didn’t Obama surprise a little bit today too, with the presser about more sanctions and reactions to Russia?! It’s always the same old with him – he arrives late but usually pulls it off quite well in hindsight.
      While other, more erratic personalities might have escalated things unnecessarily.

      The digs at Obama from Hillary, yes indeed.
      There was something about her tone and way of saying “President Obama” too, almost like something that belonged to the past tense.

      • You’re right about that, I enjoyed his speech about the sanctions. Dammit, he always manages to charm me right back in :) “other erratic personalities” — believe me, I’m always aware of how lucky we are it’s not Bush in there.

    • I know!! He charms and says all the right things :)

      But maybe there’s a little bit of change in him too, getting harder and more direct and less “let’s all be friends” ish. Abooooooout time :)

    • Btw. I just browsed through the latest interview in the Times with Obama by Thomas Friedman, and for the first time.. I really felt that I don’t care anymore, that it doesn’t matter what he’s saying. It’s all too late, and he’s just buying time – to pass things over.

      • Yeah, I’ve felt that way at times too. It makes me really sad, because I remember how excited I was at election time in 2008 and then again in 2012. I guess all politics ends in disappointment ;)

        • Naaaah :D:D Sometimes politics has given us GREAT improvements in society – for everybody. History is full of it!!

          And having just seen 40 hours of The Tudors and British 15th century, with way too many heads chopped off – I think we’ve come a long way ;)

          • True. I read a few Henry VIII-era biographies recently, and it did make me feel grateful to live in the times that I do :) It does seem like I have a lot less chance of getting beheaded!

        • Btw. having discovered the War of Roses in the 14-hundreds it’s getting blurry between Game of Thrones and real British history for me!! Lannisters and Lancasters and all of that :D

Leave a Reply

